Write On SC

Bingewatching is a Sin

Episode Summary

On August 14, 2021, Kasie and Rex continued the 7 Deadly Sins series with Gluttony. Photo by Mauru00edcio Mascaro on Pexels.com

Episode Notes

Get the full show notes on the blog here.

The seven deadly sins, also known as the capital vices, or cardinal sins, is a grouping and classification of vices within Christian teachings,[1] although they are not mentioned in the Bible. Behaviours or habits are classified under this category if they directly give rise to other immoralities.[2]According to the standard list, they are pride, greed, wrath, envy, lust, gluttony and sloth,[2] which are contrary to the seven heavenly virtues.

So the 7 Deadly Sins discussion started with “Pride” and then we did “Greed” which is not to be confused with gluttony which is a sin in and of itself. Then we did “Wrath” and “Envy” and last week “Lust.” That was fun!

So this week we’re up to Gluttony and we’ve done this topic before. In Episode 134 on avarice and greed, we worked on how greed is characterized by wanting more than you really need. Isn’t that the theme of all the Seven Sins? Aren’t they all about being insatiable?